Batter Up!

General | Jul 9th, 2012

The 2012 All-Star Game has been ranked, picked and assembled for the game on Tuesday, July 10, 2012.

Marking the 83rd year, baseball players from the National League and the American League are selected by a combination of fans, players, coaches and mangers to play in this all-star event.

In 1933, the first All-Star Game was apart of the World’s Fair in Chicago. It was thought of by Arch Ward, sports editor for The Chicago Tribune. Due to the success, this one-time event turned into an annual one.  In 1962, Major League Baseball recognized Ward’s contribution and created the “Arch Ward Trophy” which is given to the All-Star Game’s most valuable player each year.

This year, the game is being held at Kauffman Stadium inKansas City, Missouri.

To date, only two franchises have never hosted a game: the Miami Marlins and the Tampa Bay Rays.

There will be 17 starters to this year’s All-Star game.

 Record votes were broken this year by various players on both leagues. Rangers outfielder Josh Hamilton received 11,073,744 votes, breaking the previous record of 7,454,753 set last season by Blue Jays outfielder Jose Bautista.

In the National League, Giants catcher Buster Posey had 7,621,370 votes which set the National League vote record, surpassing Milwaukee outfielder Ryan Braun’s 5,928,004 votes in 2011.

Overall, 391.2 million online votes from ballots were cast, the largest total recorded in the history of online balloting, surpassing last year’s record.

 A fun fact about the All-Star Game? It’s a tradition that goes back to the early 1970’s where all the baseball players wear white shoes for the game.

 According to researcher Jon Helfesnstein, who runs a baseball blog, found that the white All-Star Game shoes were first seen in 1973 which was the last time the Midsummer Classic was played in Kansas City. He reviewed highlights of the 1973 game which featured four players from the National League wearing white shoes while none on the American League were. The next year it was eight players. This tradition spread to the American League several years later.

 The National League ended a 13-year losing streak with a win in 2010 and will be going for its third All-Star Game win in a row. With the home-field advantage during the World Series on the line, this game is more than really talented baseball players.

 Make sure to tune in on Fox on Tuesday July 10, 2012 for the 83rd MLB All-Star Game at Kauffman Stadium at 8 PM ET.